Finalists for the 2010 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction are Sherman Alexie for War Dances; Barbara Kingsolver for The Lacuna; Lorraine M. López for Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories; Lorrie Moore for A Gate at the Stairs; and Colson Whitehead for Sag Harbor.

The winner of the $15,000 prize will be named March 23, and all five authors will be honored during the 30th annual PEN/Faulkner Award ceremony in New York City on May 8.

“I’m delighted by how richly American these books are,” observed Rilla Askew, who shared judging duties with Kyoko Mori and Al Young. “Elegant, funny, the pain often embedded in the laugh lines, these works range widely in terms of geography, era and culture; each is rich in story and language, and subtly informed by the author’s complex sensibility and mastery of craft.”

Read More!