On April 23, the 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes ceremony honored the best books of 2009.

And the winners are:
Biography: Linda Gordon for Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits
Current Interest: Dave Eggers for Zeitoun
Fiction: Rafael Yglesias, for A Happy Marriage
Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction: Philipp Meyer for American Rust
Graphic Novel: David Mazzucchelli for Asterios Polyp
History: Kevin Starr for Golden Dreams: California in an Age of Abundance 1950–1963
Mystery/Thriller: Stuart Neville for The Ghosts of Belfast
Poetry: Brenda Hillman for Practical Water
Science and Technology: Graham Farmelo for The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Mystic of the Atom
Young Adult Literature: Elizabeth Partridge for Marching for Freedom: Walk Together Children and Don’t You Grow Weary

In addition, Evan S. Connell won the Robert Kirsch Award lifetime achievement award, and Dave Eggers won the first Innovator’s Award. The awards were announced during the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, held this past weekend. For finalists and other information, go to latimesbookprizes.com.