Suzanne Collins’ most recent installment of “The Hunger Games” trilogy, MOCKINGJAY hit bookstores this week, to the complete elation of her fans worldwide. An avid reader of Young Adult books, this trilogy has been on my list of to-reads for quite some time. Sadly, I had just never gotten around to it. I was sure I’d be a fan whenever I did pick up Book #1, THE HUNGER GAMES, but I was in no rush.

This past weekend, with a ton of things on my plate to be read, the excitement leading up to MOCKINGJAY’s release kept tickling in the back of my head. I finally picked up a copy of Book #1 to see if I would be immediately sucked in, to see what the hype was all about.

I was far from disappointed.

On the contrary, I couldn’t put it down. Despite my week’s busy schedule, I was up until 2am reading almost every night, and I completed the book last night. Collins’ book — a dystopian (in this case, post-apocalyptic) imagining of reality TV meeting the Coliseum — is ingeniously conceived, perfectly paced, and incredibly unique. I don’t often read much dystopian fiction, but THE HUNGER GAMES is a perfect example of why the genre intrigues me; there is so much room for creative and original storylines and I find myself completely enthralled to see what the author will come up with next.

What drew me even more specifically to Collins’ book was learning that the seed idea for this book came from the Greek myth of the minotaur and the men and women sacrificed to the beast as retribution for past generations’ wars. Her book proved to be an intelligent and accomplished layering of myth, newly imagined material, and characters who came alive on the page through their complex emotional construction. I can only regret that I didn’t pick up this book sooner. (Though, since all three books are now available, I will be able to read them all very quickly… hmm…)

I highly recommend THE HUNGER GAMES series (I’ll speak in advance about the other books, fully confident that I will be just as impressed). Stop in soon and let me gush as I grab you a copy from our shelves.

* Please note: This book is for an older teen and adult audience, due to strong violent and mature content.

