The Fates Will Find Their Way by Hannah Pittard

Due out Feb. 2011

This debut novel opens with the disappearance of sixteen year-old Nora Lindell, and follows the next thirty years via the collective voice of the boys she left behind. The author hints at several possibilities about what happened to Nora, but the novel really isn’t about her, it’s about these boys, who become men and husbands and fathers and never quite get over Nora’s disappearance. At first I wasn’t sure about this disembodied collective male voice, but in the end I found myself hooked, and I think Ms. Pittard has done something truly unique and fresh here. For fans of a straight linear narrative, this is not the book for you. But for those willing to take a risk with their fiction, enjoy! My sense is that this will be the first of many from Hannah Pittard, and I’ll be eagerly anticipating the next book of hers.

-Jennifer D.

